Eat Well, Move More











{May 11, 2012}   Starting Point

We all do it.  We make New Year’s Resolutions, plan to join Weight Watchers next month, promise to join the gym next payday, schedule  to start on that Couch to 5K program on Saturday, etc.  It’s noble, these plans and promises that we make.  We mean well, but the bottom line is…

We procrastinate. We delay. We put it off. We finally start. Life happens. Something gets in the way. We skip a day. We stop. We plan. We procrastinate. It’s a vicious cycle.

Often, we aren’t catapulted into following through or making changes at all, until there is an outside motivator: a family member’s health is in jeopardy, or even our own, motivates a change to be made.  Outside motivators can be helpful, especially the “scary” type.

Honestly, though, to be truly successful and not sabotage our own plans, we must find that internal motivator.  Yes. Self motivation is key.  We all have it. We just don’t use it like we should.  Simply put, it is deciding to…

JUST. DO. SOMETHING!

My external motivator: rapidly deteriorating health and increasing pain.  Diagnosis is irrelevant at this point. I know what needs to change.  My internal motivator: I don’t want to feel like this anymore. I want to feel better and be my “old self”.  I consider myself semi-sedentary in my lifestyle, and at times “inconsistently active”. And my downfall, I love food!  The inconsistency and promises to begin exercising or eating healthier “on Monday” are not helping me.  I have fitness DVD’s, diet books, and exercise stuff. My problem is that I keep wanting things to be perfect and think a fancy program is going to help me. Sure it would, if I actually used it. Waiting for the right day or the beginning of the week or the perfect program is not helping me.  A few days ago, I simply made the decision to “do something”.  I decided to just Eat Well and Move More.  Sounds too simple? No. Not really. It’s a starting point, a realistic starting point.

It doesn’t matter where you decide to begin. Just pick something and do it. And tomorrow, do it again.  Some things should be planned and scheduled, and that’s fine. We shouldn’t wait for June 1st to begin our “programs” or for next Monday to begin to eat better. Each day is a starting point.  Now is a starting point.  Don’t complicate things. Keep it simple.  Eat well. Move more.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
