Eat Well, Move More











{June 30, 2012}   Peaches and Cream

Lighter Peaches & Cream French Toast

Before Baking…after setting overnight in the fridge.

I love breakfast foods. I can’t help it. And when my children are staying with me, it is so much more fun to try new breakfast recipes.  This morning my children had Peaches & Cream French Toast Casserole, modified from this recipe at MyRecipes.com.   They use french bread, whole milk and cream in their recipe. I don’t usually keep those kinds of foods in my refrigerator. My version is slightly lighter on the calorie and fat side.

I made a half batch, so I had to tweak measurements. I love to cook. I love new recipes, but I hardly follow them to a T. This is not a “quick breakfast”.  It worked well for me to prepare it over night, and my teenager popped it into the oven in the morning, while everyone else was getting ready for the day. I’ll try my best to recreate my “recipe” here:

6 slices of whole wheat bread (stale is better than fresh), cut into cubes

3 large eggs, beaten

1 cup 2% milk (or skim if you prefer)

1 tsp vanilla extract

2 Tbsp. sugar (or honey)

approximately 8 to 12 oz. frozen or fresh sliced peaches

For the Topping:

1 cup 2% (or skim) milk

2 Tbsp. sugar

1/4 tsp. nutmeg

1/4 tsp. lemon rind

1 Tbsp cornstarch

  1. Layer the bread cubes into a lightly oiled 8×8 casserole dish. 
  2. In a bowl, mix together the eggs, milk, vanilla and sugar. Pour egg mixture over the bread, and shake the casserole dish to to allow mixture to seep into all of the bread. Layer the sliced peaches on the top, and then put the casserole into the refrigerator to set over night. 
  3. For the topping: In a small sauce pan, mix together the topping ingredients (milk, sugar, nutmeg, lemon rind, cornstarch) and bring almost to a boil. Watch closely, you don’t want to scorch this.  
  4. Once almost to a boil, simmer on a low heat, stirring frequently while waiting for the mixture to reduce & thicken to consistency of “cream”. Allow the cream to cool in the fridge over night. I just put mine into a mug.  
  5. In the morning, preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Pour the “cream” over the top of the casserole, covering the peaches.  Let the casserole set on the counter for about 1/2 an hour before putting into the oven. B
  6. Bake for about 45 minutes to 1 hour, or until set.  Cool slight, and serve. 
We didn’t even need syrup. It was just sweet enough.  Not to mention, it looked beautiful!   I was able to get a very small piece. The kids gobbled up the rest. 
If you try this, let me know what you think. I guessed on my measurements, so you may need to tweak to your taste.
Leave a Reply

et cetera
